This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of these cookies.

Westminster Robotics Earn State Bid and Numerous Awards at Local Competition

Westminster’s elementary robotics teams walked away from the Oliver Hoover First Annual Vex IQ Robotics Tournament with numerous top awards and a State bid. Team 6855C, comprised of Ethan de Moya ‘28, Reed Woodward ‘28, Bruno Ventura ‘28, Spencer Tew ‘28, Andy Lopez ‘27, Jeshua Bastante ‘27, Joey Hernandez-Solaun ‘27 and Parker Cline ’28, earned the State bid in addition to the Excellence Award, the Teamwork Champion Award, and the Skills Award. Team 6855C is currently ranked first in Florida and 54th in the world.
The Excellence Award is the highest award presented in the VEX IQ Challenge and exemplifies overall excellence in creating a high quality VEX robotics program. The Teamwork Champion Award is presented to each of the two teams on the winning alliance in the Teamwork Challenge Finals Matches. The Robot Skills Champion Award is presented to the team with the highest combined Programming Skills Challenge and Driving Skills Challenge score.
Team 6855B, comprised of Valeria Hernandez ‘28, Lila Hidalgo ‘27, Nina Mendes ‘28, Karen Izquierdo ‘28, Valentina Rodriguez ‘28, Luciana Montes ‘28, Emma Belvedere ‘27, and Lauren Chen ‘27 earned the Amaze Award. This award is presented to a team that has built an amazing, high-scoring robot that clearly demonstrates overall quality. The key criteria for this award is that the robot design is consistently high scoring; robot demonstrates a solid mechanical design and is robustly constructed to fulfill its designed task; robot programming is consistently effective and successful; and, students understand and can explain how they worked together to develop their robot.
Team 6855A, comprised of Andres Linares ‘28, T.J. Arner ‘28, Manny Gonzalez ‘28, Connor Heilemann ‘28, Patrick Eikenberg ‘27, and Enzo Scafuro ’27, was awarded the Judges Award. This award is presented at the judges’ discretion to a team for their special attributes, exemplary effort and perseverance at the event.
Congratulations to all the team members as well as their coaches Mrs. Mailyn Santiesteban and Mrs. Claudia Pastrana.